मौलाना आज़ाद नेशनल उर्दू यूनिवर्सिटी مولانا آزاد प्रांजी है प्रांजी अल्लाना आज़ाद नेशनल उर्दू यूनिवर्सिटी अथ्रा



(A Central University Established by an Act of Parliament in 1998)
(Accredited A Grade by NAAC)

The Department of English

Minutes of the 16th Board of Studies of English held on 13th July 2021 at 11:00 am online via Google meet link

The following members were present:

Prof. Shugufta Shaheen, Chairperson

Prof. Asim Siddiqui (AMU), External Member

Prof. Nikhat Zaidi (JMIU), External Member

Prof. Syed Mohammed Haseebuddin Quadri, Member

Dr. S. Omprakash, Member

Dr. G. Govindaiah, Member

Ms. Khairunnisa, N., Member

Dr. Mohammad Aslam Kunnathil, Member

Dr. K. Nagendra, Member

Ms. Sameena Tabassum, Member

Dr. Huma Yaqub, Member

Dr. S. Mohammad Fayaz, Member

Dr. Hina Tahir, Member

Mr. Showkat Ahmad Ahangar, Member

At the outset the Chairperson welcomed the members to the 16th BoS.

The agenda items were then taken up for discussion, resolution and approval.

Item no. 1

Confirmation of the Minutes of the 15th Board of Studies.

The Board confirmed the Minutes of the 15th BoS.

Item no. 2

Confirmation of admissions into MA and PhD programmes, 2020.

The Board noted the matter and confirmed the admissions.

Item no. 3

Approval of allotment of research supervisors and topics of research to PhD scholars of 2020 batch.

The Board approved the allotment of research supervisors and research topics to the PhD scholars of 2020 batch.

Item no. 4

Formation of Research Advisory Committees (RACs) for PhD research scholars of 2020 batch.

The Board noted and ratified the constitution of Research Advisory Committees for PhD scholars of 2020 batch.

Item no. 5

Consideration for approval and/or modification of the research topic of the 2019 batch PhD scholars respectively.

The Board approved the modification of the research topics of Mr. Wasim Ahmad Sheergojri (Enrolment no. A181334), and Mr. Anfal (18PHEN005HY) PhD scholars respectively. The board suggested Ms. Teena Thomas (A200282) and Ms. Aamina Akhtar (A191506) modify their submitted research topics.

Item no. 6

Request of former member of the faculty for continuation as supervisor of PhD scholars.

The Board resolved to admit the request of Prof. Abdus Sami Siddiqui for continuation of supervision of PhD scholars. However, allotment of supervision of PhD scholars to eligible supervisors of the Department of English is to be given priority and only after their sanctioned quotas are filled supervision of PhD to faculty outside the department shall be considered.

With reference to the request of Prof. Sami Siddiqui to be included in the DRC of English Department, it was pointed out that the constitution of DRC members is made by the Competent Authority and does not come under the purview of the Board of Studies.

Item no. 7

Adoption of the Syllabi of MA Regular Mode for Distance Mode Programme and restructuring and revision thereof

The Board resolved to approve the adoption by Directorate of Distance Education, MANUU, of MA Syllabi offered by the Department of English, MANUU to Regular Mode Students and restructuring the same into Blocks for preparing Self Learning Material for the Distance Mode student.

Item no. 8

To approve the syllabi of MCA / B.Tech, M.Tech / MCA, JMC, B.Com and Business Communication offered by the Department of English.

The Board approved the MCA / B.Tech, M.Tech / MCA Syllabus.

Business Communication - 4 Credits Syllabus to be offered instead of 2 Credits.

English Communication - 2 Credits syllabus paper offered to B.Tech students to be offered to JMC (Honours) students

Item no. 9

To approve the replacement of a text offered in the III semester - Post Colonial Literature Syllabus

The Board approved the replacement of a text offered in the III semester Post Colonial Literature syllabus for M.A. Students. Wide Sargaso Sea to be replaced with Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid

Item no. 10

The list of the recipients of PhD degrees during 2020

The Board noted the matter.

Item no. 11

To report the De-registration of PhD research scholars, Ms. Saba Khatoon (17PHEN005HY), Mr. Mobashshir Jamal (17PHEN003HY) and Mr. Somel Sk. (A191514).

The Board noted the item.

Any other item with the permission of the Chair

Ms. Anisa Mushtaq, PhD scholar was also to be included in the list of recipients of PhD Degrees awarded during 2020

The Board noted the matter.

The meeting ended with the members extending their thanks to the Chair.

Prof. Shugufta Shaheen

Bugnetabar

Head & Chairperson, Board of Studies (BoS) Department of English, MANUU